Mise en application prochaine du RGPD : comment s’y conformer ?

avr. 3, 2018, 13:02 by par Dave Jensen, employé rédacteur chez MasterControl
Soyons réalistes : tant qu’il existera des données médicales d’intérêt, des failles seront exploitées pour tenter de les dérober. Cependant, un point est particulièrement positif : les agences de réglementation du monde entier renforcent actuellement les mesures sécurisant de telles informations.

2018-bl-eus-gdpr-page-imageSoyons réalistes : tant qu’il existera des données médicales d’intérêt, des failles seront exploitées pour tenter de les dérober. Cependant, un point est particulièrement positif : les agences de réglementation du monde entier renforcent actuellement les mesures sécurisant de telles informations.

Le Parlement européen se prépare à publier un ensemble de règles strictes visant à protéger celles associées aux participants à des essais cliniques, ainsi qu’aux patients. Ces individus sont appelés des « personnes concernées ». Cette nouvelle loi, connue sous le nom de « Règlement général sur la protection des données » (ou « RGPD »), a été adoptée en 2016 par l’Union européenne, en complément de la directive établie en 1995. Toutes les entreprises qui collectent et traitent des données relatives à des citoyens de l’Union européenne, ainsi que du Royaume-Uni, doivent se conformer à ces nouvelles prérogatives essentielles au plus tard le 25 mai 2018.

Le RGPD, c’est quoi exactement ?

Le RGPD a été instauré pour élargir les droits, en matière de confidentialité, des personnes concernées impliquées dans des essais cliniques. Il a également pour but d’empêcher toute exploitation frauduleuse des données des citoyens européens. Enfin, il vient réguler le traitement et l’exportation des informations stockées au sein de l’Union, qu’elles soient ou non liées à des ressortissants du continent.

Ce n’est pas tout : l’une des implications majeures du RGPD est l’harmonisation, au sein de l’Europe, des lois régissant la confidentialité.1 Bien que certains pays puissent choisir de faire entrer des régulations plus restrictives en vigueur, tous doivent mettre en place un même niveau de protection empêchant la divulgation ou le partage des éléments suivants :

  • Les coordonnées de base, comme le nom, l’adresse et le numéro de sécurité sociale ;
  • Les données Web, comme l’adresse IP et les informations enregistrées par les cookies ;
  • Les données biométriques ;
  • L’origine ethnique ;
  • Les opinions politiques ;
  • L’orientation sexuelle ;
  • Les tissus humains.

Il est fort possible que votre entreprise doive apporter les modifications qui s’imposent à ses systèmes et protocoles.

 
This article is related to the White Paper:
Can You Afford a Data Security Breach?
Pour le consulter dans son intégralité, téléchargez au livre blanc gratuit.

 

Qui sera affecté par le RGPD ?

Le RGPD s’applique à la fois aux contrôleurs et aux sous-traitants des données permettant l’identification directe ou indirecte d’une personne. Le contrôleur détermine la manière dont celles-ci seront traitées, à quelles fins et dans quelles conditions par le sous-traitant.

Géographiquement parlant, la portée du RGPD s’étend à toutes les entreprises basées dans l’Union européenne. Cependant, celles opérant hors de cette région, mais traitant les données de citoyens européens, y sont elles aussi soumises.2

Que faut-il faire pour se conformer au RGPD ?

Le RGPD diffère clairement de la directive de 1995. La confidentialité constitue toujours la priorité centrale, mais les exigences ont été réexaminées afin de mieux s’accorder avec les procédés et technologies avancées d’aujourd’hui.

Sa ressemblance est proche avec la partie 21 du CFR de la FDA américaine. Alors que toutes vos procédures opérationnelles normalisées doivent être conformes au règlement, vous devez, en outre, vous assurer que les organisations avec lesquelles vous échangez des données le respectent également.

Traitement des données

Le RGPD n’indique pas à proprement parler comment vous devez gérer et stocker les données collectées. Néanmoins, il souligne qu’il est essentiel d’en connaître le type et le volume, ainsi que l’emplacement, et d’être parfaitement familier des risques induits et des actions à entreprendre. Si vous souhaitez vous conformer au règlement, vous devez :

  • identifier l’intégralité des données associées à chaque personne concernée, ainsi que chaque entité externe vous fournissant celles-ci.
  • déterminer la manière dont vous allez exploiter les données à caractère personnel.
  • connaître l’emplacement des données transférées et les procédés mis en place pour protéger celles-ci lors de leur transport.
  • savoir où se trouvent tous vos serveurs, et lesquels sont spécifiquement employés pour stocker, traiter et transférer les données.

Vous êtes, d’autre part, invité à sécuriser les échanges de données entre tous vos systèmes, parmi lesquels :

  • les serveurs.
  • les stations de travail.
  • les entrepôts.
  • les appareils mobiles.
  • les appareils portables.

Consentement

Le processus de consentement a été à la fois renforcé et simplifié par le RGPD : les demandes de consentement doivent désormais être concises et claires. Les formulaires ad hoc doivent, quant à eux, être accessibles facilement et aisément compréhensibles.2 D’autres conditions ont été édictées :

  • Les personnes concernées doivent pouvoir mettre fin à leur consentement aussi facilement qu’elles l’ont accordé.
  • Les personnes concernées sont autorisées à demander la suppression de leurs données (elles doivent cependant rester à disposition des fournisseurs de soins médicaux pendant une durée raisonnable, qui aura été spécifiée aux personnes concernées par ces derniers).
  • Les personnes concernées sont autorisées à demander à ce que leurs données ne soient plus traitées ou communiquées à l’avenir.
  • Les personnes concernées sont autorisées à demander gratuitement une copie de leurs données.

Délégué à la protection des données

Le rôle du délégué à la protection des données (DPD) est de s’assurer que la gestion et le traitement des données s’effectuent conformément au RGPD.

Le RGPD indique dans quelles circonstances une entreprise est appelée à nommer un tel délégué. Cette action est obligatoire uniquement si un volume très élevé d’informations sensibles est contrôlé et traité.2

Il est néanmoins conseillé de faire appel à un délégué dès que des données confidentielles sont manipulées, quelle que soit leur quantité. Voici quelques recommandations à prendre en compte :

  • Il n’est pas nécessaire de créer un nouveau poste. Un responsable de la qualité peut très bien remplir ce rôle, à partir du moment où aucun conflit d’intérêts n’a lieu.
  • Toutes les réglementations, lois et meilleures pratiques applicables doivent être connues par le DPD.
  • Le DPD doit pouvoir fournir des suggestions éclairées lorsque nécessaire.
  • Les entreprises peuvent faire appel à un DPD externe.

Notification en cas de fuite de données

En cas de fuite de données, il est obligatoire de contacter les autorités compétentes dans les 72 heures. Les clients du sous-traitant devront également être informés dans les mêmes délais. Si ce n’est pas le cas, un motif documenté doit être avancé pour expliquer leur non-respect.

Formation des employés

La conformité au RGPD doit passer par la formation des employés. Ceux-ci doivent non seulement être formés à toutes les implications du RGPD, mais également aux politiques de sécurité mises en place dans leur entreprise. Tout doit donc être revu : les technologies et les procédés généraux.

Que se passe-t-il si l’on ne se conforme pas au RGPD ?

Tous les pays membres de l’Union européenne doivent se conformer au RGPD d’ici le 25 mai 2018. Dans le cas contraire, ils s’exposent à des amendes pouvant atteindre 20 millions d’euros, ou jusqu’à 4 % du revenu annuel de l’entreprise en question. Des paliers ont été définis : vous serez, par exemple, redevable de 2 % si vous n’avez pas procédé à une évaluation des risques, si les dossiers associées ne sont pas correctement consignés, ou si vous n’avez pas alerté les autorités en cas de fuite.

Conclusion

À première vue, le processus de conformité au RGPD peut sembler intimidant. Cela étant dit, si l’on s’y intéresse de plus près, on remarque qu’un système efficace et électronique de gestion de la qualité, s’il est à portée, le facilite grandement. Grâce à lui, vous pouvez :

  • gérer des volumes élevés de données et en assurer l’intégrité et la sécurité.
  • prendre en compte toutes les exigences qui s’imposent.
  • contrôler le niveau de conformité des fournisseurs.
  • vérifier que toutes les formations adéquates ont bien été suivies et mises à jour si nécessaire.

Pour l’instant, le RGPD concerne uniquement l’Europe. Malgré cela, et car la confidentialité et la protection des données constitue une préoccupation majeure, il est très probable qu’il s’adresse rapidement à d’autres continents.

 

Références

  1. Règlement (UE) 2016 du Parlement européen et du Conseil http://data.consilium.europa.eu/doc/document/ST-5419-2016-INIT/fr/pdf

     

  2. Portail EUGDPR.org https://www.eugdpr.org/key-changes.html.


2016-nl-bl-author-david-jensenDavid Jensen
is a marketing communication specialist at MasterControl. He has been writing technical, marketing and public relations content in technology, professional development, business and regulated environments for more than two decades. He has a bachelor’s degree in communications from Weber State University and a master’s degree in professional communication from Westminster College.

GDPR Deadline Approaches: What Is Expected for Compliance?


2018-bl-eus-gdpr-page-imageFirst the bad news. As long as health care-related data remains a valuable commodity, security breaches and data theft will persist. The good news is global regulatory agencies are ramping up their cybersecurity measures in an effort to restore relevance to the “protection” component of protected health information (PHI).

The European Union (EU) Parliament is preparing to go live with set of strict new rules around protecting personal data belonging to clinical trial participants (data subjects) and health care patients. This legislation, known as the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), was adopted by the EU in 2016 as an update to the previous data protection directive established in 1995. The EU Parliament has underscored the urgency of this measure by enforcing a deadline of May 25, 2018, when all companies that collect and process data on citizens in EU countries, including the U.K., must be in compliance with the new rules.


What is the General Data Protection Regulation?

The aim of GDPR is to both expand the privacy rights of data subjects involved in clinical trials and protect EU citizens from personal data compromises. It also regulates the processing and exportation of personal data stored within the EU, whether or not the data subjects are EU citizens.

One goal of GDPR is to harmonize data privacy laws across Europe.1 While individual countries can choose to add more restrictive measures, a part of the regulation that must remain consistent across all countries is that companies will need the same level of protection for an individual’s:

  • Basic identity information, such as name, address and ID numbers.
  • Web data, such as IP address and cookie data.
  • Biometric data.
  • Racial or ethnic data.
  • Political opinions.
  • Sexual orientation.
  • Human tissues (also considered private protected information).

Many of the GDPR requirements apply specifically to information security, which means your company may need to modify your current security systems and protocols.

This article is related to the White Paper:
Can You Afford a Data Security Breach?
To view the full details, please download your free White Paper.

Who and What Will be Affected by GDPR?

The GDPR requirements apply to both controllers and processors of personal data, which by definition is any information that can directly or indirectly identify a person. A controller determines the purposes, conditions and means of processing personal data. A processor processes the personal data on behalf of a controller.

Territorially, the GDPR applies to all organizations located within the EU. It also applies to organizations located outside of the EU that process the personal data of EU citizens.2

What is Required for GDPR Compliance?

Clearly, the GDPR is significantly different from its 1995 predecessor. The emphasis on data privacy is still the central priority of the directive, but regulatory policies have been updated to better align with advanced technologies and best practices.

The GDPR regulations are much like the FDA 21 CFR requirements. All standard operating procedures (SOPs) must match the requirements outlined in the GDPR just as much as those of any other regulatory agency. Also, as a sponsor organization, you are ultimately responsible for making sure all companies you exchange data with comply with the regulations.

Data Handling

The GDPR does not specify how your organization should collect and store data. However, the guidelines specify that you need to be aware of the type and how much data you collect as well as the whereabouts of all data you store and process. Further, you need to fully understand the risks and mitigation measures involved with your data handling processes. It’s important to avoid any blind spots in any aspect of your data management. To comply with the GDPR, you must be able to clearly identify:

  • All data from every data subject and every external organization that provides data to you.
  • How you will use personal data.
  • If you are transferring data, where data is transferred and what safeguards are in place during data transfer.
  • The location of all your servers and which servers are used specifically for storing, processing and transferring data.

You also must be able to account for and secure communication between all systems, including:

  • Servers
  • Workstations
  • Data warehouses
  • Mobile devices
  • Wearable devices

Consent Policies

The GDPR requirements have both strengthened and simplified the consent processes. Consent requests can no longer be lengthy and ambiguous. Instead, your request forms must be easily accessible and use clear and plain language.2 Other consent policies include:

  • Data subjects must be able to withdraw their consent as easily as it was to give it in the first place.
  • Data subjects are allowed to request data removal. Note that data must remain available for medical providers for a certain amount of time. Medical providers need to inform data subjects of the timeline for when data will be removed, which must be within a reasonable timeframe.
  • Data subjects should have the right to have their data erased and no longer processed or disseminated.
  • Data subjects should have the right to a copy of their data free of charge.

Data Protection Officer

A data protection officer (DPO) is tasked with ensuring that data management and handling are compliant with the GDPR.

The GDPR cites specific circumstances where an organization is required to appoint a DPO to oversee all record keeping and data processing activities. A DPO is mandatory only for those controllers and processors whose core activities consist of engaging in large-scale systematic monitoring or that engage in large-scale processing of sensitive information.2

Still, a best practice is that anytime your company possesses and handles personal data, you should have a DPO. Here are some guidelines to follow for appointing a DPO:

  • You do not need to create a new position. A quality manager would be a good fit for the role as long as there is no conflict of interest between the DPO tasks and the person’s other duties.
  • The DPO must be thoroughly knowledgeable of all regulatory guidelines, laws and best practices.
  • The DPO must be able to provide expert recommendations.
  • Companies have the option to use an external DPO.

Data Breach Notification

In the event of a data breach, notifying authoritative officials is mandatory within 72 hours of discovering the breach. Processors will also be required to notify their customers within the same timeframe. If notification is delayed, a documented reason for the delay must accompany the notification.

Employee Training

A critical part of GDPR compliance is communication and education of employees. Companies need to educate all employees not only about the GDPR, but about organizational policies around IT and data security. GDPR compliance is just as much about technology as it is about process improvements.

What Are the Consequences for Noncompliance?

Compliance with the GDPR is mandatory for all EU countries by May 25, 2018. Penalties for noncompliance could result in fines of up to $20 million euros or up to 4 percent of the company’s annual income. The penalty structure has a tiered approach to fines. For example, a company can be fined 2 percent for not having its records in order, not notifying authorities in the event of a breach or not conducting an impact assessment.

Conclusion

At first glance, achieving GDPR compliance might seem out of reach. However, when broken down, most of the requirements for compliance can be accomplished with effective quality management. Implementing an integrated electronic quality management system (eQMS) can help with managing various aspects of regulatory compliance, including:

  • Managing and ensuring the integrity and security of large amounts of data.
  • Demonstrating compliance with the requirements involving controllers and processors.
  • Overseeing the compliance efforts of suppliers.
  • Ensuring all training requirements are complete and up to date.

Mandatory compliance with GDPR is currently concentrated within the EU region. However, because of the criticality of maintaining data privacy and security, it won’t be long before the GDPR standard extends beyond the EU.

 

References

  1. “Regulation (EU) 2016 of the European Parliament and of the Council (General Data Protection Regulation),” http://data.consilium.europa.eu/doc/document/ST-5419-2016-INIT/en/pdf

     

  2. “The European Union (EU) General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) Portal,” https://www.eugdpr.org/key-changes.html.


2016-nl-bl-author-david-jensenDavid Jensen
is a marketing communication specialist at MasterControl. He has been writing technical, marketing and public relations content in technology, professional development, business and regulated environments for more than two decades. He has a bachelor’s degree in communications from Weber State University and a master’s degree in professional communication from Westminster College.