Branchen- und Fachexperten

Unsere Industrieexperten gehen mit ihren fundierten Kenntnissen der Ursachen auf den Grund!



Lane Hirning
MasterControl Product Management Director, Experte für die Pharmaindustrie

 

Lane Hirning, Product Management Director, ist Pharmakologe mit umfassender IT-Erfahrung in der Pharmaindustrie. Seit er 2006 zu MasterControl kam, hat er sich auf die Produktentwicklung für die Pharmaindustrie sowie den Sektor für Blut- und biologische Präparate spezialisiert, hier insbesondere auf Großunternehmen. Er leitet ein Spezialteam, das für die Sicherheit der Softwareplattform von MasterControl verantwortlich ist.

Zu Beginn seiner Laufbahn war Hirning sieben Jahre lang als Wissenschaftler bei NPS Pharmaceuticals Inc. tätig. Anschließend war er 12  Jahre lang in unterschiedlichen Positionen im IT-Bereich beschäftigt. Er verfügt über einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Pharmazie von der Idaho State University. An der University of Arizona hat er in Pharmakologie und Toxikologie promoviert. Am Institut für Pharmakologie und Physiologie der University of Chicago war er als Postdoktorand tätig.

 


Patricia Santos-Serrao, RAC
RAC - Director, Pharmaceutical & Biologics, MasterControl Inc.

 

Patricia Santos-Serrao (RAC) verfügt über beinahe zwei Jahrzehnte Erfahrung in den Bereichen Zulassung und klinische Tests der Pharmabranche. Vor ihrem Wechsel zu MasterControl war Santos-Serrao bei QUMAS für die weltweiten Lösungen zur Einhaltung behördlicher Auflagen zuständig. Hier unterstützte sie die Entwicklung, den Vertrieb, das Marketing und die Umsetzung von Lösungen für die Pharmaindustrie. Ihr Arbeitsschwerpunkt lag auf dem Management von Antragsdokumenten für die Zulassung und Master-Dateien für klinische Studien.

Santos-Serrao hat für mehrere führende Pharmaunternehmen wie Schering-Plough und Boehringer Ingelheim in den Bereichen für Zulassung und klinische Studien gearbeitet. Außerdem hat sie Unternehmen bei der Umsetzung von Lösungen für das Management elektronischer Dokumente und für die Antragstellung und bei der Einreichung von eCTDs sowie anderen Antragsformaten geholfen. Ihren Bachelor-Abschluss in Betriebswirtschaftslehre machte Santos-Serrao an der Western Connecticut State University und an der University of Phoenix. Santos-Serrao ist Mitglied der Regulatory Affairs Professional Society (RAPS) und der Drug Information Association (DIA). Sie besitzt zudem die Regulatory Affairs Certification (RAC) der Regulatory Affairs Professionals Society (RAPS) und des Regulatory Affairs Certification Board (RACB).

 


Matthew M. Lowe
Executive Vice President

 

Matt Lowe, Executive Vice President, ist Maschinenbau-Ingenieur mit über 12 Jahren Erfahrung mit der Produktentwicklung, dem Produktmanagement und der Einhaltung gesetzlicher Bestimmungen für medizinische Geräte. Lowe hat mehr als ein Dutzend medizinische Geräte erfolgreich eingeführt und besitzt fünf Patente. Zu seiner Erfahrung im regulatorischen Bereich gehören das Verfassen eines 510(k)-Antrags, der von der FDA genehmigt wurde, sowie die Verwaltung einer klinischen Post-Market-Studie für orthopädische Geräte, die sich auf mehrere Standorte bezieht und über mehrere Jahre erstreckt.

Zu MasterControl kam er 2006 als Produktmanager, wurde nach einigen Jahren Senior Vice President und anschließend Executive Vice President. Als Experte für medizinische Geräte hat er zahlreiche Artikel in Fachveröffentlichungen verfasst. Er ist Autor des E-Books „Convergence of Compliance and Technology: How Technology Has Changed Regulatory Compliance in the Past Decade“, das 2016 veröffentlicht wurde. Lowe verfügt über einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Maschinenbau der University of Utah und einen MBA der Indiana University.

 


Louis Rutledge
MasterControl Manager of Validation Services and Solutions Group, Software Validation Expert

Louis Rutledge verfügt über beinahe zwei Jahrzehnte Erfahrung in den Bereichen Verfahrenstechnik, Dokumentenlenkung , Management von Softwarekonfigurationen und Qualitätsmanagementsysteme. Er hat für das US-Verteidigungsministerium und in der Medizinbranche, der allgemeinen verarbeitenden Industrie und in der Telekommunikationsbranche gearbeitet. Als Leiter und Qualitätssystemmanager der Produkt- und Freigabeabteilung bei 3Com/US Robotics Residential Products war er für die Lebenszyklus-Entwicklung, die Produktrealisierung, das Designteam-Management und die kontrollierte Freigabe von mehr als 200 Projekten in mehreren Produktreihen verantwortlich. Seit seinem Wechsel zu MasterControl im Jahr 2001 hat Rutledge Projekte zur Softwareimplementierung und -validierung bei mehr als 150 Kunden in den USA, Kanada und Großbritannien geleitet. Zu seinen Fachgebieten zählen die Entwicklung von Validierungsprotokollen, ISO 9001:1994, ISO 9001:2000, ISO13485, TL9000, QS9000, 21 CFR Parts 11, 210-211, 606 und 820, Q7A, das Kompetenzmodell (CMM/CMMI) für die Softwareentwicklung sowie ANSI-, IEEE- und BABT-Spezifikationen. Rutledge verfügt über einen bei der US-Marine erworbenen technischen Abschluss im Bereich Elektronik und hat Auditor-Zertifizierungskurse nach den Qualitätsnormen ISO 9000 und TL9000 geleitet. Er ist aktives Mitglied in folgenden Verbänden: American Society for Quality, ISPE und CMU SEI SEPG.


Oliver N. Wolf
MasterControl Product Manager, Experte für die Arzneimittelherstellung

Oliver Wolf hat eine Ausbildung in den Bereichen Biowissenschaften, Informationstechnologie und Betriebswirtschaft. Er verfügt über mehr als ein Jahrzehnt Erfahrung bei Informationssystemen und der Validierung von Computern in der Pharma- und Softwarebranche. Wolf arbeitete ursprünglich bei Cephalon Inc. (ehemals Anesta Corp.) – zuerst als Labortechniker und zum Schluss als IT-Manager. Er bekleidete verschiedene Positionen als Berater bei Pfizer, Amgen und Eli Lilly in den Bereichen Automatisierungstechnik, Softwarevalidierung und Projektmanagement. Seit 2004 arbeitet er bei MasterControl – zuerst als Berater für Computervalidierungen und anschließend als Produktmanager. Wolf hat zwei Bachelor-Abschlüsse der Tufts University in Biologie und Umweltstudien, die er mit der Beurteilung "magna cum laude" erzielte. Darüber hinaus hat er einen Abschluss als Betriebswirt (MBA) mit Schwerpunkt IT von der University of Utah. Zu seinen Fachgebieten zählen die Theorie und das Design von Datenbanken, die Methodik der Softwareentwicklungszyklen, das Management von Projekten, die Methodik der Computervalidierung und Produktionsprozesse in der Pharmabranche.


Rob Carpenter
MasterControl Product Manager, Experte für Blut- und biologische Präparate

Rob Carpenter arbeitet seit mehr als 16 Jahren in Augen-, Gewebe und Blutbanken; zuletzt war er als Director of Tissue Processing für die Community Blood Center/Community Tissue Services in Dayton, Ohio, tätig. Während seiner Tätigkeit brachte er in Kooperation mit verschiedenen Herstellern medizinischer Geräte dreizehn neue Transplantate auf den Markt.

Als aktives Mitglied der American Association of Tissue Banks (AATB) sitzt Carpenter in den Ausschüssen für Fortbildung und Programme und ist Leiter des AATB-Kurses zur Schulung und Prüfung zertifizierter Spezialisten. Er hält als anerkannte Kapazität landesweit Vorträge auf zahlreichen Fachkonferenzen. 

Carpenter hat einen Abschluss als Bachelor of Science der University of Cincinnati in Biowissenschaften und ein Zertifikat der Xavier University in Projektmanagement.


Steve Harrison
Product Owner, Auditing Solutions

 

Steve Harrison gehört zum Produktmanagementteam von MasterControl, wo er für Produktdesign sowie für Pläne für die Audit- und Studien-Software verantwortlich ist. Bei der Lösungsentwicklung arbeitet er eng mit den Engineering- und QA-Teams sowie mit bestehenden und neuen Kunden zusammen.

2007 wurde Harrison Development Manager im Europa-Zweig von MasterControl. Anschließend wechselte er 2013 ins Produktmanagement-Team. Steve Harrison verfügt über mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung in der IT-Branche und hat in verschiedenen Bereichen gearbeitet, wie z. B. Recht, Telekommunikation, elektronische Transaktionsverarbeitung und Qualitätssicherung.

Er begann seine Karriere als Software Engineer bei diversen Kleinunternehmen, wo er mit vielen verschiedenen Technologieaspekten in Kontakt kam, Erfahrungen sammelte und sich dadurch solide IT-Kenntnisse aneignete. Vor MasterControl war Harrison bei AMG IT Systems tätig, einem kleinen Softwareunternehmen, das sich auf Quality-Auditing-Lösungen für Tier-One-Pharma-Unternehmen spezialisiert hat.

 




Alex Butler
Manager, Medical Device Solutions, MasterControl, Inc.

Als Product Manager für Life Science Applications (LS APPs) ist Alex Butler verantwortlich für die Entwicklung und/oder Verbesserung verschiedener MasterControl QMS-Lösungen, wie z. B. MasterControl Complaints, Bill of Materials (BOM), Projects, Risk und PDM Connector. Bevor er zu MasterControl kam, arbeitete Butler als Product Development Manager für Opal Orthodontics, einem Unternehmen von Ultradent Products Inc., wo er die Markteinführung verschiedener Class II-Medizingeräte unterstützte, wie z. B. die Einführung des Opal Espirit™ Class II Correctors. Mit mehr als vier Jahren unmittelbarer Erfahrung im Medizinbereich sowie einem eingehenden Verständnis des Einreichungsvorgangs und der Audit-Verfahren der FDA ist Butler eine willkommene Ergänzung des MasterControl-Teams.


Mickey Garcia
Director, Medical Device Industry Solutions

 

As a director of product management at MasterControl, Mickey Garcia guides the development of solutions that offer MasterControl customers the fastest path to market and success. He has more than 20 years of experience in the life sciences and software industries.

Garcia begann seine Karriere in der Herstellung und Anlagentechnik bei Johnson & Johnson. Dort war er für die Entwicklung und Validierung automatischer Produktionsanlagen sowie für die Leitung von Projekten zur Qualitätsverbesserung von Sig Sigma Black Belt zuständig. Vor Kurzem leitete er die Produktstrategieinitiative für eine Reihe von QMS-, ECM-, MES- und PLM-Softwareunternehmen, die unterstützend in den Biowissenschaften tätig sind.

Garcia verfügt über einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Maschinenbau in der University of Florida und einen MBA in der Stanford University.

 


Rob Thomas
Director of CX/UX/UI (Kunden- und Benutzererlebnis), MasterControl

 

Rob Thomas ist Director of CX/UX/UI bei MasterControl und zu seinen Aufgabenbereichen gehören: Verwaltung des End-to-End-Benutzererlebnisses für alle Benutzerberührungspunkte; Definition von Standards für die Benutzeroberfläche (UI) oder die grafische Benutzeroberfläche (GUI) und von bewährten Verfahren für alle digitalen Produkte und Dienstleistungen; Überwachung der Einhaltung von Section 508 und der Verfügbarkeitsinitiativen sowie Arbeit als Product Manager für die MasterControl-Kundenwebsite.

Thomas verfügt über mehr als 17 Jahre Erfahrung in den Bereichen Benutzererlebnisdesign und -führung, Softwaredesign und -entwicklung, Produktmanagement und Prozessoptimierung. Ehe er zu MasterControl kam, hatte Thomas zahlreiche Führungspositionen inne, darunter als Director of User Experience für die LDS Church, Director of Product Development bei Westhost und Internet Manager für Melaleuca. Außerdem war er Gründer und CEO von Stellar Communications, einem ISP-Unternehmen in Idaho und Utah. Thomas hat mit seiner reichen Erfahrung und seinem umfangreichen Wissen über Benutzerbedürfnisse zur Umwandlung der Systementwicklungszyklen (SDLC) vieler Unternehmen in optimale benutzerorientierte Prozesse beigetragen.

Thomas erwarb seinen Bachelor in Graphic Design (Nebenfach Marketing) an der University of Idaho

 


Terrance Holbrook
Senior Product Manager, MasterControl

 

Terrance Holbrook ist Senior Technical Product Manager bei MasterControl, und zu seinen Aufgaben gehören Produktdesign und -entwicklung sowie Marktforschung im Bereich Software-Merkmale und -Funktionen. Er besitzt 20 Jahre Branchenerfahrung in der Herstellung sowie sieben Jahre Erfahrung in der Produktentwicklung von medizinischen Geräten.

Holbrook ist zertifizierter Lean Six Sigma Black Belt und besitzt Zertifizierungen in den Bereichen Lean Manufacturing sowie Total Quality Management. Er ist Mitglied des Project Management Institute und besitzt einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Betriebswirtschaftslehre sowie einen MBA mit dem Schwerpunkt Internationale Betriebswirtschaftslehre.

 


David Hunter
Product Management Director

 

Dave Hunter, Product Management Director, besitzt über zwanzig Jahre Erfahrung in der Software-Branche. Er leitet die Entwicklung der beliebtesten Module des Unternehmens, nämlich MasterControl Documents und MasterControl Training. Er kam 2001 als Produktmanager zu MasterControl und war für mehrere Produktreihen verantwortlich.

Seine umfassende technische Erfahrung hat er sich unter anderem bei Microsoft, EDS, Intel und TenFold erworben. Zu seinen Fachgebieten zählen Dokumentenlenkung und Schulungsplanung für regulierte Umgebungen sowie Compliance in der Lebensmittelbranche. Für Fachzeitschriften hat er diverse Artikel zu diesen Themen verfasst. David Hunter besitzt einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Elektrotechnik und einen MBA der Brigham Young University.

Contact Us

Industry and Subject Matter Experts

Our industry experts bring a wealth of knowledge to the cause!



Lane Hirning
MasterControl Product Management Director, Pharmaceutical Industry Expert

Lane Hirning, product management director, is a pharmacologist with extensive IT experience in the pharmaceutical industry. Ever since he joined MasterControl in 2006, he has specialized in product development for the pharmaceutical, blood, and biologics industries, especially large-tier companies. He leads a dedicated team responsible for MasterControl’s software platform security.

Hirning began his career as a research scientist at NPS Pharmaceuticals Inc. for seven years. He then went on to serve various roles as an IT executive for 12 years. He has a bachelor’s degree in pharmacy from Idaho State University and a Ph.D. in pharmacology and toxicology from University of Arizona. He served as a post-doctoral fellow at the University of Chicago’s Department of Pharmacology and Physiological Sciences.





Patricia Santos-Serrao, RAC
Senior Product Manager, Pharmaceuticals

Patricia Santos-Serrao, RAC, has almost two decades of experience in regulatory affairs and clinical areas of the pharmaceutical industry. Prior to joining MasterControl, Patricia held the position of Manager, Global Regulatory Solutions for QUMAS, where she helped drive the development, sales, marketing, and implementation of pharmaceutical industry solutions with a focus on submission document management for regulatory affairs and clinical trial master files.

She’s worked for several Tier 1 pharmaceutical companies in regulatory affairs and clinical, including Schering-Plough and Boehringer Ingelheim, and assisted companies in implementing electronic document management and submission solutions and in compiling eCTDs and other submission format filings. A graduate of Western Connecticut State University and University of Phoenix, Patricia holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration. A member of Regulatory Affairs Professional Society (RAPS) and Drug Information Association (DIA), Patricia earned her Regulatory Affairs Certification (RAC) from the Regulatory Affairs Professionals Society (RAPS) and the Regulatory Affairs Certification Board (RACB).







Matthew M. Lowe
Executive Vice President

Matthew M. Lowe, executive vice president, is a mechanical engineer with over a dozen years of medical device experience in product development, product management, and regulatory compliance. He has successfully launched more than a dozen medical devices and has five patents issued. His regulatory compliance experience includes writing a 510(k) that was cleared by the FDA and managing a multisite, multiyear postmarket clinical study for orthopedic devices.

He joined MasterControl in 2006 as a product manager, rising to senior vice president after a few years and then executive vice president. As a medical device expert, he has written many articles in industry publications. He is the author of an e-book, “Convergence of Compliance and Technology: How Technology Has Changed Regulatory Compliance in the Past Decade,” published in 2016. He holds a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from the University of Utah and an MBA from Indiana University.







Louis Rutledge
MasterControl Manager of Validation Services and Solutions Group, Software Validation Expert

Louis Rutledge has almost two decades of experience in process engineering, document control implementation, software configuration management, and quality management systems. He has worked for the U.S. Department of Defense and in the medical, general manufacturing, and telecommunications industries. As Director and Quality Systems Manager of the Product and Release Department of 3Com / US Robotics Residential Products, he was responsible for the lifecycle development, product realization, design team management, and controlled release of more than 200 projects in multiple product lines. Since joining MasterControl in 2001, Rutledge has led software implementation and validation projects for more than 150 customers in the United States, Canada, and United Kingdom. His expertise includes validation protocol development, ISO 9001:1994, ISO 9001:2000, ISO13485, TL9000, QS9000, 21 CFR Parts 11, 210-211, 606, and 820, Q7A, the Capability Model (CMM/CMMI) for Software Development, as well as ANSI, IEEE, and BABT specifications. Rutledge has a technical degree in electronics from the U.S. Navy and lead auditor certifications for ISO 9000 and TL9000 quality standards. He is an active member of the American Society for Quality, ISPE, and CMU SEI SEPG communities.





Oliver N. Wolf
MasterControl Product Manager, Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Expert

Trained in biological sciences, information technology, and business administration, Oliver Wolf has more than a decade of experience in information systems and computer validation in the pharmaceutical and software industries. He started his career at Cephalon Inc. (formerly Anesta Corp.), where he served first as a laboratory technician, and eventually, as IT manager. He held several consulting positions at Pfizer, Amgen, and Eli Lilly, in automation engineering, software validation, and project management. He joined MasterControl in 2004, first as a computer validation consultant, and then as a product manager. Wolf earned a double bachelor’s degree in biology and environmental studies magna cum laude from Tufts University. He has an MBA, with an emphasis in information technology, from the University of Utah. His expertise includes database theory and design, software development lifecycle methodologies, project management, computer validation methodologies, and pharmaceutical manufacturing processes.





Rob Carpenter
MasterControl Product Manager / Blood and Biologics Expert

Rob Carpenter has worked more than 16 years in the eye, tissue and blood banking industry, most recently as the Director of Tissue Processing for Community Blood Center/Community Tissue Services in Dayton, Ohio. During his tenure, he worked with various medical device companies to bring thirteen new grafts to market.

As an active member of American Association of Tissue Banks (AATB), Carpenter serves on both the Education and Program Committees and as a course director for the AATB’s Certified Specialist Training and Review Course. He is a recognized speaker at blood and tissue conferences across the country.

Carpenter holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Biological Sciences from the University of Cincinnati and a certificate in Project Management from Xavier University.





Steve Harrison
Product Owner, Auditing Solutions

Steve Harrison is a member of the product management team at MasterControl, where he is responsible for product design and roadmaps for the audit and studies software. He works closely with the engineering and QA teams, as well as with existing and new customers, to develop solutions.

In 2007, Harrison took over as development manager for the European division of MasterControl. He then moved to the product management team in 2013. Harrison has over 20 years' experience in the IT industry and has worked in a number of fields including legal, telecommunications, electronic transaction processing and quality assurance.

Harrison began his career as a software engineer with several small firms, building experience and a solid background in many aspects of technology. Prior to joining MasterControl, Harrison worked at AMG IT Systems, a small software company specializing in quality auditing solutions for tier one pharma companies.





Alex Butler
Product Manager, Life Science Applications (LS APPs)

As product manager of life science applications (LS APPs), Alex Butler is responsible for developing and/or improving several MasterControl QMS solutions, including MasterControl Complaints, Bill of Materials (BOM), Projects, Risk and PDM Connector. Prior to joining MasterControl, Butler worked as a product development manager for Opal Orthodontics, a division of Ultradent Products Inc., where he helped launch several Class II medical devices, including the Opal Espirit™ Class II Corrector. With more than four years of direct medical device experience, as well as a deep understanding of the FDA’s submission process and audit procedures, Butler is a welcome addition to the MasterControl team.





Mickey Garcia
Director, Medical Device Industry Solutions

As the segment manager of MasterControl’s medical devices product management group, Mickey Garcia guides the development of solutions that offer MasterControl medical device customers the fastest path to market and success. He has more than twenty years of experience in the life science and software industries.

Garcia began his career working in manufacturing operations and systems engineering at Johnson & Johnson, where he was responsible for designing and validating automated production systems and leading Six Sigma Black Belt quality improvement projects. More recently, he led the product strategy efforts for a range of QMS, ECM, MES and PLM software companies serving the life sciences.

Garcia holds a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from the University of Florida and an MBA from Stanford University.





Rob Thomas
Director of CX/UX/UI (Customer and User Experience), MasterControl

Rob Thomas is director of CX/UX/UI at MasterControl, where his responsibilities include: managing the end-to-end user experience across all user touch points; defining the User Interface (UI) or Graphical User Interface (GUI) standards and best practices for all digital products and services; overseeing Section 508 compliance and accessibility initiatives; and serving as the product manager for the MasterControl customer website.

Thomas has more than 17 years of experience in user experience design and leadership, software design and development, product management and process improvement. Prior to joining MasterControl, Thomas held many leadership positions, including director of user experience for the LDS Church, director of product development at Westhost and Internet manager for Melaleuca. He was also founder and CEO of Stellar Communications, an ISP business in Idaho and Utah. Thomas’s breadth of experience and knowledge of user needs has helped transform many organizations’ systems development lifecycle (SDLC) into optimal user-centric processes.

Thomas earned his bachelor’s degree in graphic design, with a minor in marketing, at the University of Idaho.





Terrance Holbrook
Senior Product Manager, MasterControl

Terrance Holbrook is a Senior Product Manager at MasterControl, where his responsibilities include product design and development and market research for software features and functionality. He has 20 years of industry experience in manufacturing fields and seven years in product development of medical devices.

Holbrook is a certified Lean Six Sigma Black Belt and is certified in lean manufacturing and total quality management. A member of the Project Management Institute, Holbrook also holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration and an MBA with a concentration in international business.





David Hunter
Product Management Director

Dave Hunter, product management director, has more than two decades of experience in the software industry. He leads the development efforts for the company’s most popular modules: MasterControl Documents and MasterControl Training. He joined MasterControl in 2001 as a product manager responsible for several product lines.

Hunter’s extensive technology experience includes working for Microsoft, EDS, Intel, and TenFold. His expertise includes document control and training control for regulated environments, as well as food industry compliance. He has written articles on those topics for industry publications. He holds a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering and an MBA from Brigham Young University.